The vineyards of Chablis

  • La Porte d'Or de Bourgogne

    Is it possible to find a prettier name for this exceptional vineyard whose fame has spread far and wide for many a year?

    A single variety – chardonnay – the grape of all great white Burgundies, here gives birth to dry white wines, both finessed and tight, and crystal clear.

    Situated in the Yonne department, about 160km South-East of Paris, halfway between Auxerre and Tonnerre, in the valley of the Serein, the vineyards of Chablis are the most northerly of Burgundy. But its true individuality is derived from its unique soil: the Kimmeridgian limestones and marnes.

  • The kimmeridgian is a jurassic period during which the ground of the same name was formed. It is a composite sedimentary soil, according to the layers, of hard limestone, calcareous marl and marl.

    With a practiced eye, you will find the famous oyster "Exogyra Virgula", symbol of the Chablis terroir. Over the millennia the Serein patiently eroded successive layers of rocks to draw the landscape of Chablis hillsides and offer us this land so well suited to the vine.

Consumption of alcohol is a danger to your health, please drink in moderation. Home - Links - Legal mentions - Creation Direct@Web

Le vignoble de Chablis

  • La Porte d'Or de Bourgogne

    Peut-on trouver plus joli nom pour définir ce vignoble d’exception dont la réputation a dépassé nos frontières depuis fort longtemps ?

    Un seul cépage, le chardonnay, plant de tous les grands vins blancs bourguignons, y donne naissance à ces vins blancs secs, à la fois fins et nerveux et d’une limpidité cristalline.

    Situé dans le département de l’Yonne à environ 160 km au sud-est de Paris, à mi-chemin entre Auxerre et Tonnerre et installé dans la vallée du Serein, le vignoble de Chablis est le plus septentrional de bourgogne. Mais ce qui fait avant tout sa singularité c’est son sol unique : les calcaires et les marnes du Kimméridgien.

  • Le kimméridgien est une période du jurassique pendant laquelle le sol du même nom s’est formé. C’est un sol sédimentaire composé, selon les couches, de calcaires durs, de calcaire marneux et de marnes.

    Avec un œil un peu exercé vous y trouverez la fameuse huitre « Exogyra Virgula » symbole du terroir chablisien. Au fil des millénaires le Serein a patiemment érodé les couches de roches successives pour dessiner le paysage des coteaux chablisiens et nous offrir ce sol qui convient si bien à la vigne.

Attention l’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé. A consommer avec modération. Accueil - Liens - Mentions légales - Réalisation Direct@Web